Paul Harris Award

During the yearly event, Rotary Celebrates, the Rotary Club of Hamilton confers two prestigious Paul Harris Fellowship Awards. This award serves as a beacon of service and community leadership, presented to individuals who have exemplified the Rotary’s maxim of “SERVICE ABOVE SELF”.

The recipients of the Paul Harris Fellowship Award have not only enriched our community with their outstanding contributions, but they’ve also served as inspirational figures for many. Their active participation and dedication have significantly improved the community’s quality of life.

Named after the founder of the Rotary, Paul Harris, who started this global movement over 112 years ago, the Paul Harris Fellowship Award is amongst the highest accolades that the Rotary organization can bestow upon an individual. The honorees, often Rotarians or community professionals, are recognized for their exceptional contributions to the community, thereby embodying the very ideals that Rotary stands for.

In addition to the honour and recognition, the award includes a $1,000 (US) donation in the recipient’s name to Rotary International’s “Annual Program Fund”. This fund actively fuels Rotary’s worldwide initiatives, amplifying the impact of this award well beyond the local community.

Several globally significant figures, including U.S. President Jimmy Carter, Russian President Boris Yeltsin, U.S. astronaut James Lovell, UN Secretary-General Javier Perez de Cuellar, and Jonas Salk have been acknowledged as Paul Harris Fellows. On a local level, the Rotary Club of Hamilton has lauded community champions such as Rob Blunsdon, a teacher who has developed a free summer literacy program for inner city children, and organizations like The Hamilton Spectator for their profound work in poverty and health research through their Code Red Series.

2023 Recipients:

paul Harris Award 2023

Shelley Mousseau  (Eddie Bauer Manager)
Adam Oldfield ( Director of Communications / Vacu-Man)

2018 Recipients:

Ryan Ellis (Elly4kids)
Kevin Anstee ( Past President)

2017 Recipients:

The Hamilton Spectator – Community Involvement

Alex Moroz (Past President)

Area Rotary Clubs celebrate local community leaders by presenting Paul Harris Fellowship Awards

2013 Recipients

Terry Cooke
Colin Millar
George McCarter

2012 Recipients

Dana Robbins
Julie Brooks
Duane Dahl
Marita Zaffiro

2011 Recipients

Mark Chamberlain
Ron Foxcroft
Becky Kellar
Mitchell Kawasaki

2010 Recipients

Dr. Judge David Marshall
Bryan Prince
Jan Lukas
Jeff Paikin

2009 Recipients

Connie Smith
Gerald Polmanter
Ronald Barr
Peter Kagoma

2008 Recipient

Paisley McNab
Bill Hogg
Rev. Sue-Ann Ward
Sandra Jennis
Jennifer Middleton

three winners (2) - Copy